CFES Mentorship Medal


The CFES mentorship award was created in 2008 to recognize the sustained and inspirational mentorship of colleagues and employees including peers, graduate students, undergraduate students and technicians. The award was set up in honour of Paul F. Williams, a geologist known for scientific and mentoring excellence, candour and integrity.


Mentorship is recognized as a critical part of professional and academic development and is vital to the health of any professional community. With this award, CFES/ recognizes an earth scientist from Canadian industry, academia or government. The award is given annually, provided someone who meets the criterion is nominated.


The sole criterion for the award is excellence in mentoring over a sustained period of time.

Recognition of past recipients can be found on the Mentorship Medal Page


CFES Mentorship Medal Nominations

The nominations period for the 2021 CFES Mentorship Medal is open and the application form can be found here as a .pdf or .doc.  The deadline for nominations is January 15th, 2021.


Member Organization Awards and Other Awards of Interest

Links to CFES member organization awards can be found here, and other awards of interest here

2021 Mentorship Medal Recipient: Sandra Barr.



Sandra Barr is awarded the 2021 CFES Mentorship Medal for her role in training and fostering several generations of geology students in Canada, and for her second to none contribution in the advancement of the geological understanding of the Northern Appalachians in Atlantic Canada.

Citation by Iain Samson.

Acceptance by Dr. Pe-Piper